The one about me

20 Mar

“I’m Liz and I am a full time working mum.” 

“Hello Liz”. 

Sometimes it does feel a bit like that, explaining that you try and do both well – and God knows, I try, if trying were an Olympic sport I’d be in Team GB.  But lots of the time I fall off the ‘making it work’ wagon, and that’s what I want to write about (there’ll probably be a bit about commuting thrown in too, 15 hours a week, it looms large in my life). 

I have two kids, who in writing I refer to as the Ls, L1 and L2, for two reasons.  Firstly because both their names begin with L, and one was born before the other.  And secondly because I write about them online a lot and I don’t want them to have a collection of articles Google-able about them that they haven’t put online themselves, so I am not waiving their right to anonymity. 

They are the two people I want to spend all my time with, but yet, unfortuitously (a word invented specifically for this situation) I find my time taken up with the demands of my employer, for whom I carry out a relatively manic role which consumes 9 and a quarter hours a day, five days a week of my time and about eight days a week of my energy. 

Fortuitously (three cheers for proper usage) I love it, most of the time at least, but in my split personality and often split loyalties I have found a lot of material that feels worth writing about.  Thanks to the juggling and the insanity there’s a lot that’s funny and a lot that breaks my heart and there’s a lot that working mums don’t feel they can share, good and bad, so I plan to try and share it, and maybe make a bit of sense of it.  

4 Responses to “The one about me”

  1. Fiona-Nicole Porter March 22, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Good on you! I’m looking forward to future instalments of “Life According to Liz” – perhaps there’ll even be a book in it! :)) xx

  2. Claire John March 22, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Loving it already Liz ! xxx

  3. Carolina March 22, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Yes weve been waiting for this one Liz….HURRAH!!!!!

  4. Elizabeth Ward March 25, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Yey looking forward to it – already enjoying it. Very readable 🙂

Leave a Reply

